English Country Dance Schedule

3dancers

Childgrove English Country Dancers dance usually (but not always - check below!) on First Mondays and Third Fridays*

English Country Dancing is an easy, fun, social dance done to live classical music. Although it has a long history, it is a very alive tradition, with new dances and music being written all the time.

On First Mondays, we have a "Learn to Dance English" event from 7-9pm. This is perfect for folks who are curious and would like to try the sort of dancing you've seen in those Jane Austen movies.  Experienced dancers are highly encouraged to come for the entire evening to help the new folks have a bunch of fun, then stay and enjoy a few more complex dances later in the evening.

We also have regular English Country dances with live music on third Fridays from 7:00-9:30pm with the occasional fancy dress ball (see the schedule) thrown in.  Everyone is welcome; all dances are taught and prompted; no partner is required; come alone or bring a friend. First-timers are encouraged to come early for the simpler dances that are taught earlier in the evening.

Once a year on Labor Day Weekend we hold an English Country Dance Weekend called "HIGH TEA" - we bring in a national-level caller and band, and dance Friday, Saturday and Sunday.  Last year's weekend was sold out in May! Be sure to sign up early next year!

Wear comfortable clothes and comfortable (flat) shoes. We normally wear casual clothing at our regular dances, and dress up for the balls.

Upcoming Dances

Friday February 15, 2018 7pm English Country Dance  $10 (ask about discounts)

band:  Cloud Nine (Martha Edwards and Aileen Murphy on fiddle, Tim Hirzel on flute, Tim Lilly on harp and guitar)
caller: Karen Jackson

Monday March 4, 2019 7pm  Learn to Dance English (aka Plain and Fancy Dance) $5

music: recorded
caller: multiple

Friday March 15, 2019 7pm HELLO SPRING! English Country Dance $10 (ask about discounts)

band:  Cloud Nine (Aileen Murphy, fiddle, Tim Hirzel, flute, Tim Lilly, harp and guitar)
caller: Wonderful Local Callers

Monday April 1, 2019 7pm  Learn to Dance English (aka Plain and Fancy Dance) $5

music: recorded
caller: multiple

 Friday April 19, 2019 7pm English Country Dance  $10 (ask about discounts)

band:  Martha Edwards and Aileen Murphy on fiddle, Alyssa Catlin on guitar
caller: Bob Green

Monday May 6, 2019 7pm  Learn to Dance English (aka Plain and Fancy Dance) $5

music: recorded
caller: multiple

Friday May 17, 2019 7pm English Country Dance  $10 (ask about discounts)

band:  TBA
caller: Missy Reisenleiter, calling a Gary Roodman night!

Monday June 3, 2019 7pm  Learn to Dance English (aka Plain and Fancy Dance) $5

music: recorded
caller: multiple

Friday June 21, 2019 7pm English Country Dance  $10 (ask about discounts)

band:  TBA
caller: Jonathan Sivier of Champaign-Urbana, IL

Monday July 1, 2019 7pm  Learn to Dance English (aka Plain and Fancy Dance) $5

music: recorded
caller: multiple

Friday July 19, 2019 7pm English Country Dance  $10 (ask about discounts)

band:  TBA
caller: TBA

Monday August 5, 2019 7pm  Learn to Dance English (aka Plain and Fancy Dance) $5

music: recorded
caller: multiple

 Friday August 16, 2019 7pm English Country Dance  $10 (ask about discounts)

band:  TBA
caller: TBA

Friday, August 30 thru Sunday September 1, 2019   High Tea English Country Dance Weekend

band: Dave Wiesler on piano, Martha Edwards on violin, and guests
caller: Joanna Reiner

Monday September 2, 2019 7pm  Learn to Dance English (aka Plain and Fancy Dance) $5

music: recorded
caller: multiple

Friday September 20, 2019 7pm English Country Dance  $10 (ask about discounts)

band:  TBA
caller: TBA

Monday October 7, 2019 7pm  Learn to Dance English (aka Plain and Fancy Dance) $5

music: recorded
caller: multiple

Friday October 18, 2019 7pm English Country Dance  $10 (ask about discounts)

band:  TBA
caller: TBA

Monday November 4, 2019 7pm  Learn to Dance English (aka Plain and Fancy Dance) $5

music: recorded
caller: multiple

 Friday November 15, 2019 7pm English Country Dance  $10 (ask about discounts)

band:  TBA
caller: TBA

Monday December 2, 2019 7pm  Learn to Dance English (aka Plain and Fancy Dance) $5

music: recorded
caller: multiple

 Friday December 20, 2019 7pm Yuletide Ball English Country Dance  $10 (ask about discounts)

band:  TBA
caller: TBA