Dance Schedule Archives - 2020

Past Dances

Wednesday, January 1, 2020 11am-3pm New Year's Day Potluck Brunch

Bring something to eat or drink and an instrument if you would like to play.

Location: Richard and Shirley Baker's House

Saturday, January 4, 2020 at 7pm Open Calling Contra Dance (aka Callers Choice Dance) $8

band: Blind Pig (Ellen Gomez, Dave Landreth, Keith Dudding and Lukas Simpson)
callers: wonderful local callers

Sunday, January 5, 2020 at 7pm - Contra Dance $8 (free beginner workshop at 6:30pm)

band: Rambling Rosies
caller: Dale Wilson

Monday, January 6, 2020 7pm  Learn to Dance English (aka Plain and Fancy Dance) $5

music: some recorded, some live
callers: multiple

If you are new to English, or new to dancing, this is for you! Experienced dancers are encouraged to come to help the newer dancers - we'll do some more complex dances later in the evening.

* Wednesday, January 8, 2020 at 7pm House Party (aka Calling Party) at Bob and Martha's house

Here we learn to call, or vet new dances, or suggest answers to the questions you may have - newcomers are especially welcome.  Directions here.

Sunday, January 12, 2020 at 7pm - Contra Dance $8 (free beginner workshop at 6:30pm)

band: The Rich and Famous (Rich Egan on keyboard, Martha Edwards and Aileen Murphy on fiddle)
caller: Lauren Peckman

Friday, January 17, 2020 at 7pm - English Country Dance CANCELLED ON ACCOUNT OF ICE

band: Martha Edwards and Roger Netherton on fiddle, Kristin Graham on keyboard
caller: MR2  (Missy Reisenleiter and Mark Rice)

Saturday, January 18, 2020 at 7pm - Contra Dance $8 (free beginner workshop at 6:30pm)

band: Dugout Canoe
caller: Ted Steele

Sunday, January 19, 2020 at 7pm - Waltz Party $10
      FREE workshop "How to teach anyone to Waltz in 30 seconds" from 6-6:50pm
     
People new to waltzing especially welcome - to see if it's working!

band: Halcyon Light Orchestra (tonight: Billy Boyer, Matt McKeever, Martha Edwards)
workshop leader: Martha Edwards

Upcoming Dances

Sunday, January 26, 2020 at 7pm - Contra Dance $8 (free beginner workshop at 6:30pm)

band: 32 Bartenders
caller: Jim Thaxter

* Wednesday, January 29, 2020 at 7pm House Party at Sarah Kaiser's house
         at 6412 Ashbury, Affton, MO 63123: 7pm all are welcome.

Saturday, February 1, 2020 7pm Open Calling Contra Dance (aka Callers Choice Dance) $8

band: Mound City Slickers

Sunday, February 2, 2020 at 7pm - Contra Dance $8 (free beginner workshop at 6:30pm)

band: MO Possum Tamers
caller: Deborah Hyland

Monday, February 3, 2020 7pm Learn to Dance English (aka Plain and Fancy Dance) $5

Sunday, February 9, 2020 at 7pm - Contra Dance $8 (free beginner workshop at 6:30pm)

band:  The Root Diggers
caller: John Coffman

*Wednesday, February 12, 2020 7pm House Party at Bob and Martha's House

Here we learn to call, or vet new dances, or suggest answers to the questions you may have - newcomers are especially welcome.  Directions here.

Saturday February 15, 2020 at 7pm - Contra Dance $8 (free beginner workshop at 6:30pm)

band:  Chirps Smith, Fred Campo, Steve Rosen, Dave Landreth
caller: Mac Mckeever

Sunday, February 16, 2020 at 7pm - Waltz Party $10
      FREE workshop from 6-6:50pm

band: Halcyon Light Orchestra
workshop leader: Bob Green

Friday, February 21, 2020 7pm English Country Dance $10

Sunday, February 23, 2020 at 7pm - Contra Dance $8 (free beginner workshop at 6:30pm)

band:  The Short List
caller: Ted Steele

* Wednesday, February 26, 2020 7pm House Party at Sarah Kaiser's House
        at 6412 Ashbury, Affton, MO 63123: 7pm all are welcome.

Sunday, March 1, 2020 at 7pm - Contra Dance $8 (free beginner workshop at 6:30pm)

band:  Hot Coffee Breakdown
caller: Karen Jackson

Monday, March 2, 2020 7pm Learn to Dance English (aka Plain and Fancy Dance) $5

* Wednesday, March 4, 2020 at 7pm House Party (aka Calling Party) at Bob and Martha's house

Here we learn to call, or vet new dances, or suggest answers to the questions you may have - newcomers are especially welcome.  Directions here. NOTE: one of our dancers turns 70 that night. Who could it be?

Saturday, March 7, 2020 7pm Open Calling Contra Dance (aka Callers Choice Dance) $8

band: Martha and the Troublemakers

Sunday, March 8, 2020 at 7pm - Contra Dance $8 (free beginner workshop at 6:30pm)

band:  Road Kill Ramblers
caller: Mac Mckeever

Sunday, March 15, 2020 at 7pm - Contra Dance $8 (free beginner workshop at 6:30pm)

band:  Sadie Hawkins Day
caller:  Kathy Coffman

Saturday, March 21, 2020 at 7pm - Contra Dance $8 (free beginner workshop at 6:30pm)

band:  Lynn Frederick, Fred Campo, Dave Landreth, Steve Rosen
caller: Wade Pearson

Sunday, March 22, 2020 at 7pm - Waltz Party $10
      FREE workshop from 6-6:50pm

band: Halcyon Light Orchestra
workshop leader: Bob Green

* Wednesday, March 25, 2020 7pm House Party at Sarah Kaiser's House
        at 6412 Ashbury, Affton, MO 63123: 7pm all are welcome.

Sunday, March 29, 2020 at 7pm - Contra Dance $8 (free beginner workshop at 6:30pm)

band:  Roger Netherton
caller: Ted Steele


*Please Note: events marked with an asterisk are not Childgrove sponsored events, but get-togethers hosted by one of our regular dancers.